sounds that grip parents with fear

My kids are early risers, all 3 of them.  Saturday mornings at our house start no later than 7AM.  I am always amazed when friends mention sleeping til 9 or later on Saturday because that just doesn’t happen around our house.  On a recent Saturday morning, early Saturday morning, I was lying in bed trying to muster the energy to get up and I could hear the kids playing in the den.  I knew if I didn’t get up they would barge in and wake their mother up and that would just ruin everybody’s day (Amen?!).  Suddenly I heard pots and pans, my pulse quickened, my thoughts raced…thus the inspiration for this post…sounds that grip parents with fear early in the morning (dum, dum, duuuum)

  • pots and pans
  • the pitter patter of little feet, then THUD!
  • the pitter patter of little feet coming down the stairs then THUD, THUD, THUD, THUD…(wait for it)…THUD!
  • the pitter patter of little feet…on the roof (OK, that’s pretty much scary any time of the day)
  • power tools
  • the car starting
  • the garage door going up
  • duct tape being pulled off the roll
  • someone saying “How do you light this?”
  • the blender or mixer
  • the smoke alarm
  • someone saying “Watch this!” then hearing the dog yelp and claw at your door
  • the repeated opening of the fridge door
  • whispers just outside your bedroom door
  • whispers then giggles just outside your bedroom door

and finally, the sound that scares me most early in the morning…

  • complete silence…that’s when I know they are really up to something.

Add to the list, this ought to be fun.

JNS

One thought on “sounds that grip parents with fear

  1. Haha. I totally identify with the silence part. It’s the whole “it’s too quiet” feeling.

    A knock at the door at an ungodly hour makes my heart pound. I can take whatever (imagined) threat might be on the other side, but I go into Papa Bear mode instantly.

Add to the discussion, c'mon, you know you want to

